Student Leaders

Young people are New Zealand’s greatest resource. This is why Karamu focuses on providing its students the knowledge, know how and the self confidence to eventually be high achievers in a modern New Zealand society. 

Karamu High School continues to gather momentum in the Hastings community by providing a full range of educational opportunities complimented by strong student leadership.

"One of our aims at Karamu High School is to provide authentic leadership opportunities for our senior students."

Michael Leitch 


Head Students

Student Leaders

Left to Right: Georgia Boyes (Dep Head Girl), Ezra Cash (Dep Head Boy), Mr M Leitch (Principal), Yvaan Hapuku-Lambert (Head Boy), Isla Christensen (Head Girl)

Community Leaders

Student Leaders

Back: Tyler McCourt, Emma Williams, Jeremy Stanton, Finn MacKenzie, Sophie Wells, Alex Hape-Tonihi
Front: Tanisha Fitzgerald, Mia Braddock, Shayne Brown, Darnah Chenery, Ashleigh Mosen, Tyler Wyllie-Cooper

Area Leaders (Academic, Cultural, Sport, Performing Arts)

Student Leaders

Back: Mason Templeton, Pounamu Tipiwai-Chambers, Romaine Crawford, Grace Nolan, Sam Thorpe-Loversuch, Zack Matthews, Emma Bone
Front: Zion Harris, Mikel O’Connell, Caitlyn Clark, Jesca-Lee Bron, Ailsa Laurie, Summer Wynyard

House Leaders

Student Leaders

Left to Right: Kendal Gowan, Tahl Southwick, Abigail Hussey, Madison Gaiger, Tom Black, Logan Hughes, Taylor-John Ave, Jon-Joseph Scales, Morgan Nitschke, Ethan Murray, Waitawhara Tupaea, Laura Winstone, Cameron Woolley, Kate Jacobs, Grace Lyndon, Shanae Mullooly