Our People of Karamū High School

The Senior Leadership Team

Mrs D Thomas

To contact the Tumuaki/Principal
Mrs Dionne Thomas

The Tumuaki/Principals EA
Mrs Gemma Meiring
Phone:+64 06 878 7139
Email [email protected]

Mr T England

To contact the Tumuaki Tuarua/Deputy Principal
Pastoral Care
Mr Troy England

Phone: +64 06 878 7139
Email: [email protected]


To contact the Tumuaki Tuarua/Deputy Principal
Teaching and Learning
Ms Sarah Gunn

Phone: +64 06 878 7139
Email: [email protected]

Mr D Hollands

To contact the Tumuaki Tuarua/Deputy Principal
Staff and Administration
Mr Damien Hollands

Phone: +64 06 878 7139
Email: [email protected]

Year Level Deans

At Karamū High School, our year level Deans play an important role in the pastoral care of your child.  Our year level Deans are listed below for your information.  Please email your child's Dean or phone 878 7139 and leave a message.

Mrs T Crawford

Year 9

Mrs Tash Crawford
[email protected]

Mr M Fleming

Year 9

Mr Micheal Fleming
[email protected]

Mrs S Overweel

Year 10

Mrs Samantha Overweel
[email protected]

Mr B Crawford

Year 10

Mr Byron Crawford
[email protected]

Mrs J Burn

Year 11

Mrs Julie Burn
[email protected]

Mr T Willis

Year 11

Mr Tom Willis
[email protected]


Year 12

Mrs Amber Walter
[email protected]


Year 12

Mr Dave Murdoch
[email protected]

Miss J Primmer

Year 13

Mrs Jasmine Primmer
[email protected]

Mr J Kite

Year 13

Mr Justin Kite
[email protected]

Karamū High School Board of Trustees

The current Board of Trustee members as of 2023 are:

  • Nicholas Richards
  • Jonathan Marks
  • Grant Russell
  • Dionne Thomas (Tumuaki/Principal)
  • David de Lange (Board Chair)
  • Gemma Meiring (Board Secretary)
  • Maggie Knowles (Student Trustee)
  • Jordan Herbert (Staff Representative)

To contact the Board Secretary email: [email protected] - Gemma Meiring (Board Secretary)

Karamū High School Staff - 2023

JonestrophyJones Family Trophy Nominations


Senior Leadership Team

  • Tumuaki/Principal: Mrs D Thomas, M.Ed Admin & Lead, B.Ph.Ed, Dip.Tchg
  • Tumuaki Tuarua/Deputy Principal: Mr D Hollands, B.Desn, Dip.Tchg
  • Tumuaki Tuarua/Deputy Principal: Ms S Gunn, B.Hort Sc, Grad Dip.Tchg
  • Tumuaki Tuarua/Deputy Principal: Mr T England B.Ph.Ed, Dip.Tchg

Heads Of Faculties

  • Arts - Mrs A Cooper, B.Mus, B.Sc, Grad.Dip.Tchg and Miss J Dawson, B.Desn, Dip.Tchg
  • English - Mrs A Price, B.B.S, Dip.Tchg
  • Enhanced Learning - Mrs R Tiuka, B.Ed
  • Health and Physical Education - Mr G P Ross, B. Ph.Ed, Dip.Tchg
  • Languages - Ms C Brownlee, B.A, Dip.Tchg, Grad Cert TEAL
  • Mathematics - Mr K May, B.Sc, Dip.Tchg
  • Science - Mr R McCroskery, B.Sci, Dip.Tchg
  • Social Sciences - Mrs T Taylor, B.A, Dip.Tchg
  • Technology - Mrs H Horrocks, B.Sc, Cert Exercise Sc, Dip.Tchg

Teaching Staff

  • Mrs K Beaumont, B.A, B.Ed, P.G.C.E
  • Miss A Blake, B.Spt, Grad.Dip.Tchg - Y10 Kaiārahi
  • Mr T Blake, B.Ed.Tchg - Y12/13 Kaiārahi
  • Ms H Bruce, B.Sc, Dip.Tchg - SENCO
  • Mrs J Burn, B.Desn (Hons), Grad.Dip.Tchg - Year 11 Dean, Asst HoF Technology
  • Miss M Calkoen, B.Arch.(Hons), Grad.Dip.Tchg - SCT
  • Mr B Callow, B.Bus, Grad.Dip.Tchg - Asst HoF Social Sciences
  • Mrs J Callow, B.Sc (Tech), MTchgLn (On leave T1-T3)
  • Ms K Christian, B.A, Dip.Ed
  • Mr B Crawford, Dip.Tchg - Year 10 Dean
  • Mrs T Crawford, Dip.Tchg - Year 9 Dean
  • Mr C Cummins, M.A, Dip.Aud.Eng, Dip.Tchg - Year 8 Transition Āwhina
  • Mr G Davies, B.Ed, Dip.Tchg
  • Mr J Donaldson, B.A, PG.Dip.Arts, Dip.Tchg
  • Mr D Fabian, M.Sc, M.Arts in Educ, B.Ed
  • Mr M Fleming, NZ Dip SS, Dip.Tchg - Year 9 Dean
  • Ms J Gibson B.A., Dip Grad Tchg
  • Mr S Glasier, B.A, Dip.Tchg, Cert  TESOL
  • Ms E Gonzales, M Prof. Lang Studies
  • Miss M Gray, B.Sc, MTchgLn
  • Ms J Hamilton, B.A, Dip.Tchg
  • Mr J Herbert, B.Sc, Dip.Tchg
  • Mrs J Hunter, B.Ph.Ed, Dip.Tchg, Grad.Cert Career Development - Careers Advisor
  • Mr T Hunter, B.A, Dip.Tchg
  • Mr J Kite, B.VAD, Grad.Dip.Tchg - Year 13 Dean
  • Mr C Latta, BA, LLB, MPCS, GradDipLnTchg
  • Mrs R Love, B.A, Grad.Dip.Tchg - Asst HoF Maths, Y11 Kaiārahi 
  • Ms E Miller-Matcham, B.A, Grad.Dip.Tchg
  • Mr P Mills, B.A. Ind Studies, Grad Dip Tchg, M.A. Creative Writing
  • Mrs S Moran, B.Sc, M.Research Biological Sciences, P.G.C.E
  • Mr D Murdoch, B.Sc, Dip.Ed - Year 12 Dean
  • Mrs R Murdoch, BMLSc, Grad.Dip.Tchg
  • Ms M Murray, B.A, Dip.Tchg - School Counsellor 
  • Mrs S Overweel, B.Fashion Des, PG.Dip - Year 10 Dean
  • Mr J Parker-Bevin, B.A, Dip Tchg
  • Mrs R Poirier, B.A, PG.Dip.Ed - (on-leave 2024)
  • Ms S Prasad, M.Ed, B.Sc, Dip.Ed
  • Miss J Primmer, B.RS, Dip.Tchg - Year 13 Dean, Asst HoF PE
  • Mr B Reay, B.Sc, Dip.Tchg
  • Ms V Redwood, B.A, Dip.Tchg
  • Mr B Roberts, B.Sc (Hons), M.Sc MTEL
  • Mr M Rolls, M.SW, Registered Social Worker - School Counsellor
  • Mrs J Starck, B.SocSci (Hons), Dip.Tchg (on-leave T1-T3)
  • Mr R Stephens, B.SocSci, Dip.Tchg
  • Ms A Sydenham, B.FA (Hons), M.FA, Grad. Dip.Tchg
  • Ms S Tuaoi, B.DanceSt (Hons), Dip.Tchg - Y9 Kaiārahi
  • Mrs A Walter, B.Sc, B.Ed - Year 12 Dean
  • Mr T Willis, B.Comm, Grad Dip Arts, M.Tchg  - Year 11 Dean
  • Ms C Woodhall, B.A, Grad.Dip.Tchg
  • Mr J Wright, B.VAD, Nat.Cert Carpentry, Grad.Dip.Tchg

Extra Curricular Music Staff

  • Mr D Boston, B.A, L.T.C.L.(Perf), A.I.R.M,T, - Guitar, Electric Bass
  • Mrs H Baker - Cello
  • Mr A Della Barca - Voice
  • Mrs C Della Barca – Director of Choral Programme
  • Mrs M McHattie, Dip.Tchg, A.I.R.M.T - Flute
  • Ms S Rutgers - Piano
  • Mr A Wuts - Sax/Clarinet 

Support Staff

  • Miss D Arnott - Teacher Aide, Sports Coordinator
  • Mrs J Birch - Administration/Canteen
  • Ms C Black - Teacher Aide
  • Mrs L Bruce - Teacher Aide
  • Mrs P Coppell - Teacher Aide, Music Administrator
  • Mrs A Fraser - Library
  • Mrs A Grapes - Administration/Careers
  • Mrs F Gray - Receptionist/Cashier
  • Mrs J Harrison, Dip.DigitalMedia - Office Administrator
  • Ms A Hunt, B.CP, GradDipLnTchg - Teacher Aide 
  • Ms P Jensen - Teacher Aide
  • Ms M Kimber - Teacher Aide 
  • Miss S Maui - Teacher Aide
  • Mr R McLaren - Groundsman
  • Ms J McMillan - Teacher Aide
  • Mrs G Meiring, B.Bus - Tumuaki/Principals EA
  • Miss N Messer, Dip.Rehab, Dip.Pysch, Div.Therapy - Teacher Aide
  • Ms Manina Petuha - Teacher Aide
  • Mr R Poulgrain - Caretaker
  • Mrs M Radley - Accounts Clerk
  • Ms C Siebert, B.A (NZSL) - Interpreter
  • Mr M Strickland, NZCE (Ele Eng) - IT Manager
  • Mrs D Taaffe, Cert.Hazardous Substances and Management, QTA Microbiology - Science Technician
  • Ms D Tahau - Teacher Aide 
  • Mrs K Treneman - Office Administration
  • Ms K Wilson - Admin Support

School Details

We can be found on the Corner Grove Road and Windsor Avenue in Hastings

Postal Address

P.O. Box 346
Hastings, 4156

Phone: + 64 6 878 7139
Fax: + 64 6 878 7937
Absence Line: +64 6 870 6143
Email: [email protected]


For directions to the school, we are easily found using Google Maps.